Kim Dae-jung

Kim Dae-jung ( Korean pronunciation: [kimdɛdʑuŋ]; 3 December 1925 – 18 August 2009) was the 8th President of South Korea from 1998 to 2003, and the 2000 Nobel Peace Prize recipient. He came to be called the " Nelson Mandela of Asia" for his long-standing opposition to authoritarian rule and for his Sunshine Policy towards North Korea.